top of page


A club steeped in history


In May 2015 the Oxford University Women’s Rugby Football Club – OUWRFC – officially became part of OURFC to form one ‘University Rugby Club’. In the December of that year, the first Women’s Varsity Match to take place at Twickenham was won by Cambridge.


OURFC currently has three men’s teams – the Blues (1st XV), Greyhounds (2nd XV) and Whippets (3rd XV), and three women's teams – the Blues (1st XV), the Panthers (2nd XV), and the Pumas (3rd XV). All six teams are ‘Open Age’, and play a Varsity Match against their respective Cambridge opposition. In addition, there is a Men’s U20’s Varsity Match.

In 2019/20 the club celebrated its 150th season with a number of events, including an Anniversary Dinner at the Hurlingham Club, London where in excess of 450 past players and guests celebrated the club’s illustrious history. Here’s to the next 150 years!


Women's Blues Captain 2023/24
Men's Blues Captain 2023/24
Men’s Captains 2000 – 2023


2022/23 Tom Osborne (Trinity)

2021/22 Louis Jackson (Oriel)

2020/21 George Messum (Kellogg)
2019 Ed David (St Hilda’s)
2018 Dom Waldouck (Kellogg)
2017 Conor Kearns (Jesus)
2016 Fergus Taylor (St Cats)
2015 George Messum (St Anne’s)
2014 Jacob Taylor (Keble)
2013 John Carter (Kellogg)
2012 John Carter (Kellogg)
2011 John Carter (Kellogg)
2010 Nick Haydon (University)
2009 Daniel Rosen (Worcester)
2008 Peter Clarke (St Cross)
2007 Joe Roff (Harris Manchester)
2006 Kevin Brennan (Linacre)
2005 Andrew Dalgleish (St Anne’s)
2004 David Lubans (St Anne’s)
2003 John Allen (University)
2002 Fraser Gemmell (St Cats)
2001 Brett Robinson (Wadham)
2000 Jamie Weston (Keble)


Women’s Captains 2000 – 2023


2022/23 Lauren Webb (Corpus Christi)

2021/22 Jessica Abele (Exeter)

2020/21 Fiona Kennedy (St Hilda’s)
2019 Hazel Ellender (St Cross)
2018 Abby D’Cruz (Keble)
2017 Sophie Behan (St Edmund Hall)
2016 Catherine Wilcock (Wadham)
2015 Carly Bliss (St. Edmund Hall); Tess Braunerova (St Edmund Hall)
2014 Tatiana Cutts (Keble)
2013 Katie Sage (Pembroke)
2012 Rona Mitchell (St Hugh’s)

2011 Beth O’Brien (Keble)

2010 Ashley Massey (Keble)

2009 Jenny Rossdale (Jesus)

2008 Hannah Grainger Clemson (Green Templeton)

2007 Bethan Walsh (St Hilda’s)

2006 Sarah Taylor (St Hilda’s)

2005 Rebecca Young (Keble)

2004 Zahler Bryan (Magdalen)

2003 Rachel Mawle (Brasenose)

2002 Beth Temple (St Hilda’s)

2001 Karen Jones (Pembroke)

2000 Ulrika Andersson (Merton)


Our Partners 2023/2024

OURFC would be nothing without its supporters and, significantly, its partners:


Since 1869 Oxford University Rugby has developed a unique heritage and authenticity that many of today’s professional teams could only dream of.


Oxford has produced over 300 international players such as Phil de Glanville, Tyrone Howe, Stuart Barnes and Manon Johnes. It has an illustrious alumni packed full of outstanding achievers with global reaching connections. A partnership with OURFC not only enables you to strengthen your business connections but also to align your brand alongside one of the most famous universities in the world.


Sponsorship with Oxford University Rugby will support your business’ strategic objectives

  • Develop exposure for your brand through worldwide broadcast, print and online media coverage of the Varsity Match.

  • An opportunity to generate new business through contact with OURFC’s extensive database of personal and business contacts.

  • Develop new business relationships and attend exclusive Oxbridge events.

Individual Sponsorship Packages

All businesses are different and have their specific business objectives. For this reason the majority of OURFC sponsorship packages are individually tailored to meet the needs of each business. Whether your budget is large or small, please get in touch – we would be delighted to put together something that works for your business.


If you would like further information on partnership opportunities with OURFC please contact Ian Kench, General Manager (

bottom of page